SPIUS Established Cooperation with the Student Government of Texas A&M University

On Wednesday, January 18, 2017, Mr. Nathan Spaulding, the representative of the Student Government (SGA) of the Texas A&M University for the international cooperation, visited the International University of Sarajevo (IUS).

Mr. Spaulding had a meeting with Lamija Jamak, Bedrija Imamović, Haris Kvrgić, Ismail Ćidić and Salahuddin Hussein, the representatives of the Student Parliament of IUS (SPIUS). They discussed cooperation possibilities between Texas A&M University SGA and SPIUS.

Ismail Ćidić, President of SPIUS, informed Mr. Spaulding about latest IUS and SPIUS projects, presented educational system in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the country in general.

The cooperation includes potential student and professor exchanges, especially during the summer, but also lectures on Srebrenica Genocide at the Texas A&M University which will be supported by SPIUS. Mr. Spaulding offered a help to SPIUS in the form of administrative procedures, organisation, structure and more. The administrations of both organisations are going to stay in touch in the following months. Mr. Spaulding invited SPIUS representatives to the largest Student Governments Conference in the entire world that is held at the Texas A&M every year.

Moreover, Mr. Spaulding had a meeting with the IUS Rector Prof. Dr. Tahsin Erkan Türe, Vice-Rector Assist. Prof. Dr. Faruk Berat Akcesme and SPIUS representatives where they discussed the cooperation at the institutional level. IUS Rector initiated the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding between the two universities.

In the afternoon, the guest enjoyed a tour of Sarajevo, through which he learned more about the history of Sarajevo, Genocide in Srebrenica and the history of Bosnia and Herzegovina in general.

Texas A&M University is the oldest and largest university in the State of Texas and one of the best universities in the USA with more than 60.000 students.

SPIUS expresses gratitude and appreciation to the Student Government of the Texas A&M University on established cooperation.