Nüket Yetiş Lectured at IUS

On Wednesday, March 28, 2018, within the Horizon2020 SAGE project, Prof. Dr. Nüket Yetiş gave a lecture on: Gender Inequality in Higher Education and Science: A Global Perspective at the International University of Sarajevo.

Prof. Dr. Nüket Yetiş started her career as a researcher at the Department of Research Operations, Marmara Research Center, TÜBİTAK (1975-1980). She worked as an assistant at the Department of Industrial Engineering, at Istanbul Technical University (1980-1982). After that, she became an instructor in the same department (1980-1985). She became Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at the MU (1994-2000). She led a movement for continuous quality improvement at the same faculty, making it the first Turkish public organization to become the finalist of the European Quality Award in 2000.

Dr. Yetiş was President of TÜBİTAK in the period from January 2004 to August 2011. During her mandate, she led the initiative for restructuring, which resulted in dozens of financial grants and services which TÜBİTAK provided in the domain of research in Turkey. That development was one of the causes of the exponential increase in science and technology in Turkey as evidenced by their main indicators.

She won PICMET Medal of Excellence, and in 2010 won award offered by World Academy of Productivity Science. She is one of the most influential women in science in the Islamic world. She is a member of the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC).

The lecture was also attended by representatives of the University of Zenica, who were pleased to come to the International University of Sarajevo, and talked with prof. Nuket. On behalf of the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Federation of BiH, the lecture was attended by: representative Assist. Prof. Dr. Jasna Duraković, who is also President of the Comittee for Gender Equality, Almedina Bulić, Secretary of the Commission for Gender Equality, and Amra Kunovac, Representative in the House of Representatives and a member of the Ethics Commission.