The award ceremony for the best IUS student business plan

Edvin Sinanović (21) from Zavidovići and Haris Kvrgić (19) from Sanski Most, first year and third year students of the Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences (FENS) of the International University of Sarajevo (IUS), won the first prize on IUS LEC Business Plan Competition held on Wednesday, April 22, 2015. Leadership and Entrepreneurship Center (LEC) of the International University of Sarajevo (LEC) organized the competition in cooperation with the Bosna Bank International  (BBI). The winners of this competition will receive cash prize in the amount of 300 EUR and also an exceptional opportunity to present their business plan at the upcoming Sarajevo Business Forum 2015. Sarajevo Business Forum is annual international investment conference organized by BBI and in cooperation with its international partners. This year the conference will take place on May 13-14 under the motto “One region, one economy”.

Sinanović and Kvrgić came up with idea to develop a plan to produce cotton buds because because they have noted that in stores no domestic manufacturer is producing cotton swabs and in our country. "We are happy for winning the award, especially since we will have an opportunity to present our business plan to the people from the region and the world. In this way, we wanted to promote domestic producers. When we thought about what and how to produce it, we realized that it shouldn’t be something difficult, rather something simple. For this product we need only cotton and sticks, and this product does not have domestic manufacturers" - says Edvin. He also said that he is not nervous to present his project in front of well known business people.

Ivan Šafradin and Alen Mahmutović won second place and prize of 200 EUR for a business plan on plantation of raspberries, while third-place went to Emma Knezović and Selma Hrnjić. They presented a business plan for starting a factory for recycling. The best business plans were selected by a jury comprised of the Rector, Deans and professors and representative of BBI.